Allow Me to Catch You Up

It’s quite ironic how my blog has been silent as of late when my life has been the absolute opposite! So far 2016 has been one of the best and worst years of my life. It was the worst because the stress of my school life and my home life was becoming way too much for me to handle. And yet I am here, typing away, and ready to conquer the world. Judging by what I’ve been up to this summer, I’m off to a good start. Allow me to keep you up to date, shall we?

New York, New York: I didn’t go to the last day of school because I was on a plane to New York! I spent approximately a week there exploring a world unknown to me, which turned out to be an amazing experience. I’ve always wanted to travel the whole world and experience different cultures, but little did I know I simply had to walk through three different neighborhoods in New York. I fell in love with this city over a matter of hours. I can’t wait to go back.

Yale University: My next stop after New York was New Haven, Connecticut where I attended a conference for College Prep Scholars at Yale University. It was a one day event, but it was amazing. It was amazing that I was even invited there to begin with.  I never thought that I would be good enough to even become a College Prep Scholar, let alone sit in one of Yale’s classrooms.  I spoke with admissions officers of Yale and multiple other colleges and it just made everything so real. I could possibly be a student at one of these colleges a year from now!

Girls Who Code: In addition to becoming a College Prep Scholar, I also got accepted into the Girls Who Code 7 week summer immersion program. Now, I know how that sounds. Doesn’t this girl want to become a journalist? Why the heck is she learning to code. Well, my friend. There’s a reason to my madness. Many people say that journalism is dying when in reality it is evolving. We get our news from the internet, so wouldn’t it be great if I could program a new way to tell stories? Hence why I’m learning to code, but it is NOT easy. I am not very science oriented so it’s been a struggle!

 

Twenty One Pilots: Luck was definitely by my side when a friend from my Girls Who Code summer program approached me with relatively cheap tickets to see Twenty One Pilots. I thought they were regular seats until I found out what GA1 stood for–the pit. The pit is on ground level where crazy fans can push their way to the front. When my friend and I went, it was every man–every woman– for themselves. I slowly weaved to the front, and got an amazing view! The concert sure was life changing. It converted me to hardcore fan and I don’t think I’ll ever be the same again.

New Responsibilities: Right before school ended, editor positions were announced for my school newspaper. I had been anticipating that moment since I started the journalism program at my school, hence I worked tirelessly to get there—so tirelessly that I once finished writing an article on a dying phone in the parking lot of Magic Kingdom. When the moment of truth came around, I wasn’t sure how I would handle the news. Fortunately, the news was good because I became the new managing editor of the newspaper! I knew that it wasn’t going to be an easy job, but I was ready to become a leader and create a publication that the staff and I could be proud of.

Leave a Reply

