Help Me Get to Yale University This Summer!

After a long year of hard work and overcoming adversity, good news finally came knocking at my door on April 22. It came in the form of an email from Questbridge, an organization that helps students from low-income families reach top tier schools. As a junior, I applied for College Prep which serves as a great boost forward to college. Honestly, as I was opening my application to check if I got in, I was already preparing for rejection. I did not expect to see the word ‘congratulations’ yet there they were– blinking at me in big red letters followed by ‘you are a college prep scholar‘ in blue.

Screenshot-2016-04-29_10.21.06 (2)

I scroll down to see the awards and I couldn’t contain my excitement any longer. I find out that I’m invited to a National College Admissions Conference at Yale University, where I’ll be informed about the college admission process and get to interact with Questbridge’s 30 partner schools in their college fair. Now, I start to read further and find out that I have to find a way to get there as opposed to Questbridge flying me out. This is where it gets tricky. Plane tickets are expensive in addition to Hotel costs. My mom will be coming as well (and mostly likely my little sister) so the costs triple! My mom vowed to get us there, but she can’t do this on her own. Which is why I’m swallowing my pride and asking for help. I have opened a GoFundMe account and already I’m halfway to my goal; it would be great if you guys could donate however much you deem necessary so that I can attend the conference.

The link is the following: https://www.gofundme.com/5k549x64

 

Leave a Reply

