Seconds

I wrote this in my English class today and now I have to extend it to 500 words, but it feels so perfect the way it is now. Sigh. Wish me luck. 

I remember it well. I was walking to the drugstore on 5th avenue when you brushed past me, touching my arm for only a moment before you were gone—like many others have before. But this time it was different. I couldn’t help but feel that I was meant to know your name, that I was meant to call it out and bring you back to me, but I didn’t. I didn’t because you were the stranger and I was the unlucky pedestrian that you walked past, gracing my life only for a second. A second. That’s all the time in the world for you to turn it upside down. And you did.

Leave a Reply

