I Got Published on Outloud.com!

Right before my sophomore year ended,  my journalism teacher assigned us to interview a celebrity. I had no idea who I was going to interview, how I would get in contact with them, and if my nerves would take the best of me. I was aware of this assignment for months now but nothing came to mindwell nothing realistic, that is.

Then I got a follow on twitter.

I clicked on my new follower’s icon and creeped on their page for a while. I read their bio and learned that the account belonged to SunGhosts, a rising band in Miami. In that moment, my journalistic heart began to pitter patter. I declared to myself that this was it. This was going to be my celebrity interview. So I messaged them, got their manager’s email and bada bing, bada boom the interview was set!

I couldn’t believe it. I was going to interview a band!

However the excitement soon turned into anxiety as the interview day came around. I kept thinking about it. What would I say? How do I say it? What do I wear!? It was horribly nerve-wrecking.

Finally, the day came. I was sitting at the coffee shop where we arranged to meet. Luckily, my friend, Carina, came along to help ease my nerves. But that only helped a little. I waited for what felt like an eternity until I saw a group of guys come in. They didn’t see me at first so I had to approach them. I took a deep breath, walked to them, and shouted,”hey!”

The lead singer turned around and saw me. My nerves were at it’s peak. I tried to smile, and I didbut my lip kept twitching. He walked towards me and I was about to extend my hand for a handshake, but before I could, he hugged me and kissed me on the cheekthe Miamian way of greeting someone. The rest of their band members, including their photographer, did the same and my nerves went down a little. Just a little.

“These are normal guys,” I reminded myself. “I can do this.”

And indeed I did.

At first I referred to my trembling notepad for my questions, then as the interview went on I forgot it was there. I asked away, on-the-spot questions and the questions that I have thought long and hard about. I laughed along with them when somebody cracked a joke and I made comments here and there. When the interview finished an hour later, I felt awesome. I felt like I could do anything at this point.

So I submitted an article about them to Outloud.com

And guess what? I got published! (I kind of spoiled it in the title, didn’t I?) You can check out the article here and you can check out the full interview here and here.

3 thoughts on “I Got Published on Outloud.com!

Leave a Reply

