Colombia Day 7: Enlightening Conversations

Sometimes there are moments when somebody says something so beautiful, shocking, or unexpected in a conversation that I am left speechless. I have these moments often and I’m grateful for them because I  always leave the conversation a slightly different person—a wiser, more open-minded person. I had a short conversation like that with my mom today in the village where she was raised. It went a little like this:

Me: “It’s so sad how people are born and die here”

My Mom: “Yes, but most of them lived a happy life”

When she said that, I had nothing else to say. How could I? The only reason I thought living in one place all your life was sad was because I couldn’t imagine the course of my life taking place in one small village (I dream of traveling the world). But when she said that most people in the village live a happy life, it made me think. Maybe staying happily in one place your whole life isn’t bad after all.

Life in Colombia is not quite like life anywhere else. Most people spend their lives alongside family so there is never a dull moment. They also take time in the day to enjoy the fresh air from
Life in Colombia is not quite like life anywhere else. Most people spend their lives alongside family so there is never a dull moment. They also take time in the day to enjoy the fresh air from outside their living rooms.
One thought on “Colombia Day 7: Enlightening Conversations

  1. Think about it, most people in America have become stationary. They have established a good foundation, then choose to remain. Unlike yourself they are happy remaining in one place. I would also like to travel the world!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

