Colombia: Day 2

Since I’ll be bombarding this post with pictures, I’ll try to keep the writing to a minimum. I’ll try.

So today was pretty tiring. I woke at the break of dawn like everybody else because I didn’t want to be left behind on any trips planned on the whim. Good thing I did because a good portion of family decided to go to the centro. The centro is basically the center, the heart, the soul of the village. It is the busiest part of Buga. People are walking to and fro buying clothes, goods, shoes, and whatever else they need; or they’re simply trying to have a little fun. People stroll around with a raspao in one hand and a sense of adventure in the other.

For a foreigner, crossing the streets in this area can be a little scary (at least it was for me).  There is plenty of traffic consisting mostly of motorcycles rather than cars because they are sold cheaper and are more convenient–especially since the streets are so narrow. What’s really intriguing is that every now and then you can hear the pitter patter of hooves belonging to a horse. It’s amazing to see the merging of two worlds: the old and the new. Don’t you think?

Well, I have a lot more to say but I’ll let the photos say it for me.

Leave a Reply

